Cheese Spread

I read this post over at Happy Foody and decided to try it out.  I really like cheese.  Really.  A good parmesan or sharp cheddar?  Yum!  My Master’s thesis was actually on cheese, so I guess you could say I am a cheese master.  🙂

Anyway, back to the recipe. I had all the ingredients for this recipe on hand and decided to give it a whirl.  I do not have a VitaMix (if anyone wants to buy me one, I’ll love you forever!), so I used my regular blender.

It was pretty good.  I wouldn’t call it cheese, but I liked it as a spread/dip.  The nutritional yeast adds a nice savory note and the lemon juice gives it a cheesy like tang.  I used it as a spread on a Dino Kale leaf and topped with shredded carrots and the rest of the yellow pepper.  I actually ate 3, but forgot to take a picture until I was down to my last wrap.

Raw Cashew Cheese Spread www.goneraw.com

1 cup raw cashews, soaked for 2 hours and rinsed

½ large yellow bell pepper
¼ cup water
2 tablespoon lemon juice
2 tablespoon nutritional yeast (find this in the bulk section or in condiments…it’s not ‘technically’ raw)
1 tablespoon tahini
1½ teaspoon sea salt
1 clove garlic
1 Tbsp of green onion

Blend all ingredients until creamy (a high powered blender works the best…but if you have a regular blender, just blend it for a long time. It should be completely smooth). Add more water if it is too thick.

Leave a Reply

