Avocado Roll Salad

I am a bit of a lightweight when it comes to sushi.  I have a texture issue with large pieces of raw fish and gravitate towards the rolls.  Even worse to the sushi fans, I tend to prefer the vegetable rolls which aren’t remotely sushi.  Avocado rolls are my favorite.

I’ve been reading about the benefits of adding sea vegetables to the diet, but didn’t really know how to go about it.  I bought some dulse flakes recently and they have been just sitting in the pantry, waiting for a chance to see the light of the kitchen.

I have a Raw cookbook I bought at Goodwill a year ago, long before I started eating raw.  It’s a bit dated, but has a few good recipes.  I found one for a ‘zucchini zalad’ that called for dulse flakes, so I tried it out (with modifications).  I was a little hesitant to take the first bite, but, to my surprise, it tasted just like an avocado roll.  I happily ate the whole thing and will be repeating this recipe.

~2  c shredded zucchini

1 diced green onion

1/2c diced bell pepper

1/2 avocado

Dressing: 1 tsp liquid aminos, 2 Tbsp dulse flakes, 1 tsp olive oil, 2 Tbsp water

Leave a Reply

