Taco Salad

Like any Texan, I love tex-mex flavors.  Cumin?  Cilantro? Yes please!

I read this post on Happy Foody months ago and filed it away in my brain as a ‘to make’ recipe. I finally got to it, and, oh my, it was so good.  I made the walnut meat and cashew sour cream and used them to top a salad, along with salsa and avocado.

Walnut “Meat”
Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen by Ani PhyoI slightly modified due to what I had on hand.

1/2 cup almonds (you can also substitute pecans or any other nut)
1/2 cup walnuts
1 T ground cumin
2 T chopped cilantro
1/3 cup olive oil
2/3 t sea salt
1 t  soy sauce

Process almond and walnuts and put aside in a bowl. Add other ingredients and mix well with a spoon. Keeps for 4-5 days in the fridge.

Cashew Sour Cream

I Am Grateful by Terces Engelhart

3/4 cups soaked cashews (soak 8 hours and rinse)
1/4 t salt
1 T lemon juice
Approx. 1/2 cup fresh water

Blend in blender until smooth. Add more lemon juice or salt to taste.


One response to this post.

  1. […] before, I big red puffy heart love tex-mex flavors.  I used the some of the walnut taco meat from this recipe and mashed it together with avocado and salsa.  The walnuts give a nice texture to the mixture and […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

