Broccoli and Oranges. Who knew?

Broccoli Citrus Salad

This recipe was on the back of my broccoli slaw bag and caught my eye.  I was going to make my standby broccoli-carrot-raisin recipe, but decided to try something new.

Yum!  An unexpected pairing of flavors that was so refreshing and tasty on a hot summer day.  I wouldn’t have thought to pair broccoli and oranges, but the flavors work really well together.

Here is my modified version (due to what I had on hand):

BROCCOLI SLAW
1 bag (16 ounces) broccoli slaw
2 Fresh oranges
2/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro

CITRUS DRESSING
3 tablespoons olive oil
3 tablespoons lemon juice
1 tablespoon honey
1 1/2 teaspoons grated orange peel
1/8 teaspoon salt

Preparation Directions

1. In tightly covered container, shake all dressing ingredients until well mixed. Pour dressing over salad and toss. Serve immediately, or cover and refrigerate up to 24 hours.

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] Desserts. Tagged: avocado, dessert, Vitamix. Leave a Comment I’ve already marveled at the orange + broccoli combo, but I have an even more random one for you today: orange + […]

    Reply

  2. […] think most all of it is yummy.  I’m particularly partial to Chocolate Coconut Raw Macaroons, Broccoli Orange Cilantro Salad and Curried Quinoa with Chickpeas and […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

