Orange Cucumber Ginger Dressing

I modified the orange-cucumber dressing from Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen by Ani Phyo.

Blend together:

  • 1 small cucumber
  • 1 orange (peeled, seeded and diced)
  • 1/3 c EVOO
  • 1/3 c soaked cashews
  • 1 Tbsp fresh ginger
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 0.5 tsp sea salt

It was really easy and used ingredients I already had on hand.  I’ll definitely be making this often.  The ginger and orange combination gave it an Asian-style flavor.

I poured it over spinach and field greens for lunches for the past three days.

3 responses to this post.

  1. question: do you have permission from the publisher to print this recipe? they are copyrighted and you cannot just type them out from recipe books onto the web without clearance.

    this is a pet peeve of mine. I feel it is so hard to make a living as a chef, particularly a raw vegan one. publishing recipes without permission can really hurt someone’s business.

    Reply

    • Interesting point. My understanding (which is truthfully culled from reading other food blogs) is that siting the source is sufficient for printing a recipe. Maybe it’s not.

      I generally modify the recipe to suit my taste and, from a previous job, know that changing at least 3 three things in the recipe makes it ‘yours.’ It is certainly not my intention to hurt anyone’s business. If anything, I’m trying to bring exposure. But, as you point out, I may not be doing it the right way.

      Reply

  2. Ok, I did not read that you had modified it before. Yes if you change things, then I believe it is ok to publish. Just be clear when the inspiration is from.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

