Red Pepper Hummus

I had 6 red bell peppers from our farmshare box to use.  My 4-year-old eats raw bell peppers daily, but even she can’t eat 6 in a week.  Here she is eating a pepper on her 2nd birthday.  Isn’t she a sweetie?

Anyway, I was looking for something to do with bell peppers beyond just slicing and eating and came across the recipe for Red Pepper Hummus from Ani’s Raw Food Essentials by Ani Phyo.

Ingredients: ground sesame seeds, garlic, sea salt, bell pepper, tahini and lemon juice.

I loved it!  It made 2 cups and I ate it for lunch for a couple of days.  The first day I made a collard wrap with the hummus, more red peppers, avocado, shredded carrot, romaine and diced cucumbers.

On day 2, I ate the remaining hummus as a dip with vegetables and tomato, walnut zucchini crackers. When the kids go to nap/rest time, I sometimes like to make platters like this just for me.  It feels indulgent, especially since I usually eat it while sitting on the couch catching up on DVR shows.  It’s funny what feels indulgent once you become a mom….

One response to this post.

  1. I’ve tried Ani’s hummus from her first book and I seriously loved it (dare I say…more than chick pea hummus). I have to make the roasted red pepper one!

    And your daughter is adorableee. I love that she bites into red peppers like apples 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

