Chocolate Pudding-ish

I have yet to even try to conquer hacking into a whole coconut.  I don’t even know if you can buy them here in San Antonio, but I haven’t exactly looked.  I eat coconut almost daily, but it’s either already shredded or in the form of coconut oil/butter.  Anway, many of the pudding type recipes I see in Raw Food cookbooks involve fresh coconut, so they are filed away in my ‘Someday’ file in my head.  Along with many, many other things.

I came across a chocolate pudding recipe that was pretty much cocoa, avocado and vanilla.  Tried it and had to choke it down.  Tasted like it sounds.  Love chocolate and love avocados, but together, not so much.  There are other iterations out there like this and this that I may try someday.  I think the addition of coconut milk, bananas and/or dates could help the flavors blend a bit better.

I recently tried another chocolate pudding recipe that I based off of a chocolate pie type recipe from Everyday Raw.  Jackpot!!  It is so very good.  Very rich, in that I can’t finish the entire dish.  The husband also really liked it and said I should serve it to friends sometime as a ‘can you believe this is raw?’ kind of dessert.  Maybe, but maybe I’ll just eat it all myself….

  • 3/4 c cashews, soaked 4-6 hrs
  • 1/3-1/2 c water
  • 1/3 c agave syrup
  • 1/4 c cocount oil/butter
  • 1/4 t vanilla
  • dash sea salt
  • 1/2 c cocoa (raw is best, but I used regular)

Blend all ingredients together until creamy and smooth and freeze.

I liked it best chilled (not frozen), so I took it out of the freezer and put it into the fridge about 8 hrs before eating.  It ends up with a texture like cold cheesecake.  Not really pudding like, but I’m not sure what else to call it.  Any suggestions?

I’d rank this up there with the chocolate coconut crack drops in terms of deliciousness.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, I love avocado (chocolate) pudding… but I would probably throw agave or yacon syrup in with it for sure. You may like that. Sweeten it up a bit.

    The cashew recipe sounds really good- at least it looks really good. One suggestion… um, maybe try using irish moss paste with it… have you experimented with irish moss before? It give a really nice fluffy “pudding” texture. But really, the dish above looks so decadent and rich… so good!

    Reply

  2. […] only slightly sweet, so it’s a great snack.  For a rich dessert, I’d go with this chocolate pudding.  For a nice mid-afternoon snack, this banana/avocado/cocoa blend is perfect.  This week I plan […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

