The Best Birthday Present Ever!

You know you are getting O-L-D when a blender brings giggles and joy upon opening.  Only this isn’t any blender.  This, my friend, is the most amazing blender in the whole wide world: A Vita Mix! I’ve wanted one for years, but have really started coveting the blender since going high-raw.

The Husband and I are kinda cheap, so spending a lot on a blender is a bit of a splurge.  Still, they have fantastic warranties and I’ve heard so many people talk of the amazing durability, power and longevity of their VitaMix blenders.

I’d like to say the maiden drink was a green smoothie, but that would be a lie.  The first drink to come out of the Vitamix may have included vodka.  And it was fantastic.  The next day, however, I did get to green smoothie making and was amazed at the texture of the drink coming out of the Vitamix.  No identifiable particles left – no kale to chew on after the rest of the drink was consumed.  I’ve used it every day and am giddy each time I fire it up.  I’m also a bit skeeved out when I think about my previous blender blunder and that, if I was idiotic enough to repeat it, the Vitamix would, well, not be as kind to my fingers as my last blender.

If you have a Vitamix, what is your favorite recipe?

What was one of your favorite birthday gifts?

11 responses to this post.

  1. Yay to AMAZING blenders! I have a Blentec and it was definitely definitely definitely the BEST thing I ever purchased. Hands down.
    I love my green smoothies but raw soups are great and hummus is super easy with a good blender.

    Ah, I remember those days of kale and spinach green smoothies with a regular blender. I honestly do NOT miss those days one bit. A good blender makes SUCH a difference. 🙂

    Bravo to the vodka drink to break in the Vitamix. haha!

    Reply

  2. So happy for you! I have a blendtec but it makes the smoothies just as smooth. my smoothies tend to be greens, banana, frozen strawberries or mango, hemp protein. but i like to mix it up with coconuts in there sometimes. enjoy!

    Reply

  3. Congrats!!! How exciting! Sadly, I don’t have a Vitamix 😦
    Someday though 🙂
    Best bday gift: gym membership!

    Reply

  4. I am incredibly jealous! The VitaMix demonstration at Costco nearly gets me every time. One of these days I know I’m going to cave! Until then, my Magic Bullet and I will keep duking it out. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Ahhhh what a cool present! I am SUCH an appliance geek and my favourite appliances are the blendy stuff. I don’t know if it’s the same blender but my mother has a Vitamix that is about 40-50 years old and it’s STILL going strong. The only thing that is starting to wear is the seal, but the motor is perfect! How’s that for durability?

    Reply

  6. OOOh so excited to see your Vita adventures ;).

    Reply

  7. YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My blender and food processor have both died since I have gone raw! I am saving for a Vita. I’m excited for you. I turn 25 on Sunday and I would be thrilled to have a vita!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Tracy on September 17, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    Holy Crap! I just clicked on the link for the VitaMix. I don’t think they were selling them for $500 when I saw the demo at Costco. Just to be safe, I probably should NOT allow you to serve me a drink from your VitaMix. I really don’t need another expensive thing to long for 😉

    Reply

  9. That is totally worth getting giddy for!! I started screaming when mine arrived in the mail…and I ordered it myself!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

