Turning Granola into a Skirt

I like to surround myself with people who are smarter (not that hard), more talented (again, not that hard) and inspiring.  My friend Tracy totally nails all three.  She’s also kind, funny, a fantastic mom and just the kind of friend we all need.

She has been posting her sewing projects on Facebook and, a few weeks ago, published a picture of a very cute skirt.  I (half jokingly) offered to barter some raw granola for a skirt.  Much to my surprise, she took me up on it.  Score!

I made up a box of goodies: Raspberry Almond Granola, Cranberry Maple Granola, Choc- Coconut Crack, Salt and Pepper Seeds and a couple of Mango-Almond chews.

We got to meet up last weekend (we don’t live in the same city anymore) when we were in her area for a wedding and chase our kids around a park while trying to carry on a conversation as only moms of young kids can.  In between swing pushing, slide catching, life saving and fire ant smashing, we discussed food, kids, church, life and small bosoms.

She made me two skirts:

dots

blue-greenish

I could get into the bartering thing.  I love having talented friends!

Anyone want to trade some granola for cleaning my house?  Anyone?

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tracy on September 21, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    Thanks for all the yummy treats AND the flattering comments! The skirts look awesome on you 🙂 I might have to jump on the dehydrator wagon; I think the girl and I are addicted to the granola. Yes, you know something is wrong when you start hiding healthy snacks from your child.

    Reply

    • You know, if the ‘rawness’ doesn’t matter, you could probably make the granola in a low oven. For RK’s sake, you might give it a try. I hide healthy snacks at times too – we deserve to be healthy too right? At least that’s what I tell myself.

      Reply

      • Posted by Tracy on September 22, 2010 at 9:50 pm

        Good idea. I have a setting on my oven that is called “proof.” It’s for allowing dough to rise. I’m not sure of the exact temperature, though. You think that would work?

  2. Ok, I’m bookmarking those granola recipes! Yum! Love the blue skirt! Very cute. I really like the bottom part.

    Reply

  3. Lucky friend! I would donate some treats for housecleaning too.

    Reply

  4. Bartering….what a cool idea…! The new skirts look lovely.

    Reply

  5. I love that polka dot skirt!!! How cool to exchange goods like that.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Ginnie on September 23, 2010 at 7:41 am

    Very cute! And they show off that “Insanely” flat tummy of yours!

    Reply

  7. Love the skirts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

