Quinoa Grape Salad

In efforts to eat some of the food out of my pantry before adding more to it – Hi, I’m Michelle and I’m a compulsive grocery shopper – I came across a box of red quinoa sitting quietly behind some almonds and chocolate chips.  I put 1/2 a cup into a bowl of water and soaked overnight.  The next morning I rinsed and put in a strainer over a bowl and covered the strainer and waited for the cute little quinoa tales to emerge.

I’ve sprouted quinoa before and used it to make a tabouleh type salad.  But, tomato season is sadly coming to an end and I’m not a fan of bland tomatoes in a dish that features them.  So, I modified a recipe I copied down from Raw Food, Real World and came up with this:

Quinoa Grape Salad

  • 1/2 cup quinoa, soaked and sprouted
  • 2 Tb lime juice
  • 1 Tb macadamia nut oil
  • 1 tsp rice vinegar
  • salt to taste
  • 3/4 c chopped grapes
  • 3/4 c chopped celery
  • 1/3 c chopped cilantro
  • 1 green onion, diced

Mix quinoa – salt together and let sit at least an hour.  Add in remaining ingredients and let sit another hour for optimum flavor.

This could probably serve two, but I ate it all in one sitting.  It was different and delicious.  I loved the sweet grapes contrasting with the salty dressing, the crunchy celery and the fresh addition of cilantro.  It is a recipe I’ll be making again soon.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Awesome. I have all ingredients sans red quinoa and macadamia nut oil. I have regular quinoa though.
    To sprout the quinoa – how long do you wait? Also, do you totally drain the water and wait for them to sprout?

    I am also a compulsive shopper. It’s getting better now that I buy my fruit and vegetables from a fruit and veggie shop because I don’t go to the grocery store so much.

    Reply

  2. […] Salad: Sprouted Quinoa and Grape Salad. Make this and thank me. It is unusual and delicious. I haven’t had any success sprouting […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

