Creamy Carrot Ginger Soup

aka ‘Don’t spill this on your carpet because there are mad amounts of beta-carotene and it is a potent natural color.’

Here in San Antonio we are having cooler weather.  Not cold.  Not even cool.  Cooler, as in 70 is cooler than 95.  So, I’m pretending it is fall and eating fall foods, like soup.

I modified this recipe from Raw Food, Real World. As a side note, I have yet to make a bad recipe from that book.  I just requested it from the library again and am going to copy down some more recipes.  I highly recommend this book.

Creamy Carrot Ginger Soup

  • 1.5 cups carrot juice (I juiced mine, but could use store-bought if not concerned about the ‘rawness’ of the dish)
  • 1/2 medium avocado
  • 2 Tbsp shredded coconut
  • 2 Tbsp lime juice
  • 1 Tbsp agave nectar
  • 1 tsp freshly grated ginger
  • dash of cayenne and salt to taste

Blend all ingredient (I love my vita-mix!) until creamy and smooth.

I topped with additional coconut and avocado.  Very good – I loved the nuanced flavor the ginger, coconut and cayenne added.

Anyone have a raw soup recipe to recommend?

6 responses to this post.

  1. No raw soup recipes from me, but had to laugh when i saw this one. I just returned from the grocery store with ingredients to make a carrot-ginger soup from the Weelicous websute! 🙂

    Reply

  2. I don’t like a lot of raw soups but this one looks really good. I like a good cucumber dill raw soup.

    Reply

  3. gazpacho’s always good! you can be creative and have fun with it. LOVE gazpacho 🙂

    Reply

  4. Mmmmmm! Looks fantastic. I have had this soup on my “TO MAKE” list for forever… maybe I should make it!

    Reply

  5. omg this looks amazing!!!!!

    Reply

  6. […] is the part 2 in the consumption of the carrots first used in the Raw Carrot Ginger Soup.  I had a juicer full of carrot pulp and headed to google to find a use.  It took me to one of my […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

