The day I learned that I like brussels sprouts

I like them.  I really like them.  Who knew?  I used this easy, peasy recipe from the Front Burner blog and ate them over brown rice.  I finished the whole pan in one sitting myself, so I’d suggest doubling if your pan size allows.

So now that I’m open to the idea of brussel sprouts, how else should I try them?  Got any recipes to suggest?

11 responses to this post.

  1. So glad that you loved them! I ate the whole pan too. 🙂 And then I made it again and added PEARS, and it was even better…

    Reply

  2. I just had some sauteed the other day. I saw a recipe for roasted brussel sprouts on crabby vegan’s blog.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lisa on December 8, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Brussell Sprouts in the year 2010 Rock! The ones I ate when I was a kid were ew…Love the recipe you show here. Roasted in the oven are heavenly and nutty…you cannot eat just one!

    Reply

  4. I posted a recipe for shredded brussels sprouts that I’ve been addicted to lately. I used to hate them too, until a few years ago. now, I cook what I think will be enough for leftovers, and it never is. 😉

    Reply

  5. Posted by Kate on December 9, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    i love tossing brussels and cranberries with balsalmic and maple syrup and roasting them until they are a little crispy. yummy!

    Reply

  6. Brussels Sprouts are my favorite! These are delicious: http://shmooedfood.blogspot.com/2005/12/best-brussels-sprouts.html the recipe is also in Vegan Lunchbox, but if you don’t have the book, you can still make it. The roasted ones in Vegan with a Vengeance are pretty delicious, too!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Lauren on December 10, 2010 at 6:30 am

    We eat them with apples and bacon and a little red wine vinegar or with butternut squash and apples and rosemary and butter

    Reply

  8. Posted by Genevieve on December 10, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    I cook Brussels sprouts with a little EVOO and lots of garlic. Simple, quick and delicious!

    And for a non-vegetarian dish, you can add crispy bacon (or pancetta). And if you feel like really indulging yourself, you can even cook the sprouts in bacon fat. Gives the dish a nice smoky flavor!

    Reply

  9. I LOVE them roasted with salt pepper, and nooch and occasionally steamed with hot sauce 🙂

    Reply

  10. Honestly, you roast some brussel sprouts and I could eat them EVERY SINGLE DAY. I LOVE them. 🙂 Glad you found the light. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

