Raw Frustration

Our Mac hard drive just died and we’ve only had the computer for about 10 months. Ugh. We’ve been backing up, but I wasn’t too sure if I was doing it right and, ironically, had it on my list to go this very week to the Apple store to learn more about backing up our data. Apparently a week too late.

I’m now on our old PC which is not so fun to use after getting used to a Mac. All my photos are in purgetory right now – maybe they are backed up correctly and I can load them onto our new Mac later this week or maybe they are lost. Which will suck. A lot.

So – posting may be sparse for a few days and will likely be picture-less.

Go and back up your data! That is my tip for the day….

Hope your Monday is going a little better.

On a food note, I used Kombu for the first time today.Β  I presoaked some adzuki beans with it and then chopped it up to cook with the beans into a soup.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Daphne Purpus on January 4, 2011 at 12:12 am

    I’m really sorry–that has been my worst nightmare, but I just heard about a cool and very easy site called SugarSync where you can keep all your stuff backed up really easily and quickly and you can then access it from anywhere if you should so choose. So I don’t know what other options you are exploring, but I just tried this and they even have a free option to get an idea (I had too many photos and iTunes to consider that). Anyway, I hope what backup you do have is working and that getting it loaded onto your new Mac (I too am a Mac person) goes easily and smoothly!

    Reply

  2. Bummer!! I hope you guys are able to get it all fixed!

    Reply

  3. Posted by radioactivegan on January 4, 2011 at 12:58 am

    That sucks. I love my Mac, but I do back it up quite often (just in case). I hope all your data is safe somewhere. Good luck!

    Reply

  4. Posted by genahamshaw on January 4, 2011 at 1:00 am

    Oh no! We have an external hard drive to back up data. I should back up my photos on there. Thanks for the reminder.

    I hate having to switch to PC from Mac. I used to have to go back and forth all the time from home to work and it’s annoying!

    Reply

  5. oh no! hope the computer is on the mend soon.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Kate on January 4, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    arg! sorry to hear about your computer. that is very frustrating. i’ve had kombu in my hands multiple times but haven’t bought it. next time!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Kerri on January 4, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    My husband just backed up my computer last night! Whew!

    Reply

  8. yeah-we had our laptop for only about a year before the motherboard went. ’twas a “lemon”.
    i guess it happens. imperfect people making imperfect machines. c’est la vie.
    still disappointing and frustrating to say the least.

    how did your soup turn out? πŸ™‚

    Reply

  9. What is Kombu?

    Jen

    Reply

  10. Posted by Amber Shea @Almost Vegan on January 6, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    Wow, sorry to hear about your computer! What a pain in the @$$ 😦

    Kombu! I’ve been meaning get some for so long. Do you feel like it really make the beans easier to digest? I’ve never had that problem with legumes, but my boyfriend complains πŸ˜›

    Reply

Leave a Reply

