Cabbage Salad with Cilantro Lime Dressing

Cilantro and I weren’t friends until about 3 years ago.  One day I woke up, realized it was indeed delicious and, ever since, have been on a mission to eat enough cilantro to make up for all that I missed for my 30ish years of cilantro-abstaining.  One nice thing about living in San Antonio, TX is that cilantro is crazy cheap year round, as in no more than 3/$1.

I modified the Cilantro Citrus Vinaigrette in Viva Vegan to make the following dressing.  Which I may have eaten with a spoon before putting on my greens.

Cilantro Lime Vinaigrette

1/4 c EVOO
1/4 c grapeseed oil
2 Tbsp lime juice
1 Tbsp red wine vinegar
3 Tbsp cilantro leaves
1 clove garlic, chopped
1 tsp dijon mustard
salt and pepper to taste

Add all ingredients and blend until smooth.

I tossed it with a bag of cole slaw mix, topped with even more cilantro, to make a really light and refreshing salad.

I ate about half the bowl for lunch one day and then used the rest atop a green salad for the next day’s lunch.

For the ease and low cost, I’ll be making this one again.  The slaw would also be good in soft corn tortilla tacos or wrapped in collard leaves.

You tell me:

Cilantro – love it or hate it?  It seems to be an all or nothing kind of herb.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for the recipe Michelle. I have some cabbage in my fridge to use so I will make this! I like cilantro. It’s not particularly cheap here and I don’t use a lot of it, so I grow my own so I don’t waste it when I buy a bunch.

    Reply

  2. Yum! My husband is on the hunt for new salads. I’m about to email him a link to this. I think it’s going to hit next week’s menu. We love cilantro around here.

    Reply

  3. Cilantro lime dressing? Don’t mind if I do! haha this is perfect! I love trying new dressings!!!

    Happy weekend love!

    Reply

  4. great dressing idea.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jennifer on January 24, 2011 at 3:21 am

    I love love love cilantro!! Like you, I cant get enough! I might have to try this recipe!

    Reply

  6. I’m sure your cabbage salad tastes with the cilantro lime dressing tastes wonderful! The problem we have with cilantro is that it gives me heartburn. I love it, but if I eat more than just a tiny bit I’m miserable. 😦

    Reply

  7. Totally! Most people I know either love it or hate it, or if they love it now they used to hate it, like me. I think it’s a pretty delicious herb, but it hasn’t always been that way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

