Happy Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day is in full swing over here today.  I loved Valentine’s Day from childhood through about age 14.  Around 9th grade I realized that I wasn’t one of the girls walking around with balloons and flowers.  It was the worst in college.  I remember so clearly walking through the lobby of our dorm and seeing it transformed into a flower shop with all the bouquets waiting for their recipients to come down and claim them.  I was not one of those recipients.  😦  When my now husband and I started dating, after college, I still wasn’t a big fan of Valentines Day.  To be honest, I did revel in my first ever time to get a bouquet on the fourteenth of February, as a grad student living 1000 miles from my Valentine.  I almost hugged the delivery guy standing on the porch of our sketchy rental house in Raleigh, NC.

As dating turned to engagement and engagement to marriage, I’ve given my husband complete permission to not bring me overpriced flowers or gifts on Feb 14th.  Any other day of the year I will happily accept them. Hint, hint husband.

Now that I get to celebrate Valentine’s Day as a family, I am totally on board with the holiday.  I want to make it a special day for all four of us.  One where my kids feel loved and celebrated.  A day they will look forward to each year, always knowing they will be their dad’s and my Valentine.

We have had a red and pink dinner for 3 years in a row now and will celebrate the 4th one tonight.  I’ll post about it this week.  Here are some pictures from the last few Valentine’s Day.

2006

2007

2008

With my brother and sister in law.  I was 7 months pregnant and rocking an awesome maternity shirt.  Note to self – burn that one…..

2009

My little guy slept through most of the big dinner.  We tried to wake him up for decorating cupcakes.  You can look at his face and see how much he appreciated that.  That’s my boy – sleep trumps all, even cupcakes.

2010

What are your thoughts on the holiday?

8 responses to this post.

  1. No need to burn that photo… you are gorgeous. 🙂

    Reply

  2. So nice to see so many pics of your family and how they’ve grown. I tend to like the holiday because I like chocolate and cards, and my husband and I do celebrate it. But when I was single it wasn’t my favorite, like you.

    Reply

  3. I love that you mention wanting to celebrate them. 🙂 With one child’s birthday on actual Valentine’s Day we do some creative celebrating. We don’t open gifts with James until his family bday party (this weekend) We made a special breakfast for all the kids but did some special things for the birthday boy. We’re going to do some *heart healthy* exercising tonight as a fam and then out for a special dinner. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Love the pictures!
    I like Vday, but don’t get too worked up about it. I also am all for year-round flowers and not any on Valentine’s Day. I can’t wait to celebrate with my family though. 🙂 (when I have one!)

    Reply

  5. i can’t wait to read about your dinner! you already read about my valentine’s day, but i really like keeping it low key. my dad always made a big deal about valentine’s day for me when i was growing up, so i definitely want to make it a special day for my kids too. 🙂

    Reply

  6. in high school my dad would always send flowers to school for me. whenever the girls found out they were from my dad they thought it was the most awesome thing and some even expressed how they wish their dads would do that.
    i have great memories of valentines day because of my dad.
    now that i’m married, we don’t really celebrate it traditionally, but we love to get stuff for our daughter 🙂

    Reply

  7. […] My Amazon Store « Happy Valentine’s Day […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

