Butternut Squash and Coconut Bisque

What is the difference between soup and bisque?   Anyone?  Bisque always makes me think of Seinfeld:

George Costanza: You don’t think she’d yada yada sex?
Elaine: [raising hand] I’ve yada yada’ed sex.
George Costanza: Really?
Elaine: Yeah. I met this lawyer, we went out to dinner, I had the lobster bisque, we went back to my place, yada yada yada, I never heard from him again.
Jerry: But you yada yada’d over the best part.
Elaine: No, I mentioned the bisque.

I don’t know if this bisque is better than, well, you know, but it is quite tasty and very simple.  And crustacean free.

Butternut Squash and Coconut Bisque

  • 2 c chopped butternut squash
  • 1/2 c chopped onion
  • 1-2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 tsp grated ginger
  • 1/2 can coconut milk
  • 1 15oz can (ish) vegetable broth
  • grapeseed oil for sauteing
  1. Saute onion and garlic in oil until fragrant.  Stir in ginger and a dash of salt.  Add butternut squash, coconut milk and vegetable broth and bring to a boil.
  2. Reduce heat to low and simmer 15-20 minutes, or until squash is soft.
  3. Using a blender, food processor or immersion blender (my choice), blend soup until smooth.  Add salt to taste.
  4. Top with shredded coconut and enjoy!

Great leftover, too, especially with Kombucha!

Any other Seinfeld fans out there?

 

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Haha! Yes, I’ve always loved Seinfeld!
    This sounds amazing…my fiance ALWAYS has to get the lobster or crab bisque from Whole Foods when we go…it’s pretty pricey, but I usually let him get a few treats so he let’s me take my time in the store. 🙂

    Reply

  2. i am a huge seinfeld fan!!!! and oh. my. gosh. This bisque looks bomb! Defnitely making this!

    Reply

  3. I have all the ingredients!!! This sounds amazing!!

    Reply

  4. […] My Amazon Store « Butternut Squash and Coconut Bisque […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

