Cookie Dough Oatmeal (Vegan)

Another quote from a great 90s sitcom to follow-up the Seinfeld quote from Monday:


Ross: It tastes like feet!
Joey Tribbiani: Well, I like it.
Ross: Are you kidding?
Joey Tribbiani: I mean, what’s not to like? Custard, good. Jam, good. Meat, good!
(from Friends Thanksgiving episode in 1999, Ross and Joey talking about Rachel’s meat trifle)

Oatmeal, good.
Cookie dough, good
Together?  Good.
What’s not to like?
This recipe started with my version of the Cookie Dough Dip from Peas and Thank You.

Cookie Dough Topping

(inspired by Peas and Thank You)

  • 1 c. raw cashews
  • 2 T. almond butter
  • 2 T. maple syrup
  • 2 T agave
  • 1 T. nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 t. sea salt
  • 1/2 t. vanilla extract
  • 4 T. almond milk
  • 1/4 c. dark chocolate chips
  1. Combine cashews, almond butter, maple syrup, agave, nutritional yeast, salt and vanilla in a blender or food processor and blend to combine.
  2. Add almond milk slowly, until the mixture reaches a peanut butter like consistency.
  3. Stir in chocolate chips.

This recipe would also be good with peanut butter in place of the almond butter, that is if you like peanut butter cookie dough.  Mmmmmm.

I made it one night, planning on using it for a dip.  The next morning, however, as I looked at my very plain bowl of steel cut oats, I felt inspired to go a little crazy.  Don’t tell me my life isn’t exciting.
Oatmeal, meet faux cookie dough.  They liked each other a lot.  They may have even gotten a room.
What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever used as an oatmeal topping?

 

 

12 responses to this post.

  1. mwahahaha! that friends quote is literally my FAVORITE! 🙂 no matter what it always makes me laugh!

    i’ve totally put cookies on top of my oatmeal! also, sometimes i make savory oats and i put a drippy “fried” egg on top.

    Reply

  2. I haven’t gotten too crazy with my oats. Blueberries and peanut butter? Okay, not crazy at all. I’ve been drooling over all the cookie dough hummus and dips I’ve seen lately. Yours looks delicious!

    Reply

  3. Posted by eatspinlive on February 23, 2011 at 3:34 am

    Okay, so you totally just combined two of my FAVORITE things! You are awesome girl :)I cannot wait to try this!!

    Reply

  4. ooh, decadent!
    I don’t eat oatmeal very often so I have no answer for you!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Kate on February 23, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    yummmmmm! thank you for sharing this recipe!

    i loved friends. the thanksgiving episodes were always the best too.

    Reply

  6. oh man, I have to try this recipe asap!!! Looks amazing!!!

    Reply

  7. I’m just wondering why I haven’t tried these dessert dips yet. Oh wait…time?? hehe This looks so good.

    Reply

  8. When I made my dessert hummus I thought about topping some oats with it, but I ate it all before I had the chance! 🙂

    Reply

  9. OMG this looks SO SO SOOOOOOO GOOD. I’d eat the whole thing in one sitting. That would be dangerous. But damn it looks great! I like that you put it into oats! Delish!

    Reply

  10. This looks so good, I was searching fun toppings for oatmeal and found this! Can’t wait to make it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

