What I Ate Wednesday

This weekly installment of our daily eats isn’t quite as exciting as the Valentine’s Day or Snow Day versions.  Today was a pretty normal Wednesday, no holidays or frozen precipitation to celebrate.

I started my day at 4 am for no particular reason, just unable to sleep.  I snuck downstairs and watched last week’s Glee.  If I can’t be sleeping, watching Glee isn’t a bad 2nd alternative.  🙂

Once the munchkins awoke we started our morning.  I had a slice of Rustic Banana Oat Cake from Oh She Glows (I left out the chocolate chips and didn’t do the glaze).

The boy had Banana Cake, apples, frozen blueberries and frozen peaches.  The girl didn’t like the cake, so she had toast with jelly, apples, frozen blueberries and frozen peaches.

Wednesday is a preschool day, so I packed their lunches.  This is a recycled photo, but my kids eat pretty much the same lunch each preschool day.  The girl likes cheese + tortillas, while the boy likes pb&j.

We got in the car and I had a driving snack of hot lemon water and some cut up veggies (in my super fancy kid’s plastic cup).

I dropped off the kids and skipped happily to the car and headed to Starbucks for my third round of breakfast.  China Green Tips tea and an orange, enjoyed while catching up on Facebook and then doing some Bible Study.  Facebook and the Good Book.  That’s how I roll.

After a fantastic and much needed yoga class, I dropped by the store for bananas and came out $30 later with more than bananas.  Including a little treat for myself, Kombucha.

I started to make my salad and when it came time for the lime juice, I had to head to the study to pick a lime of the ‘fruit cart’ that my daughter assembled last night.  See the black scarf?  She uses it to pull the fruit cart around the house, dropping oranges in her trail.  If you come over in a few weeks and find a moldy orange behind a bookshelf, you’ll know why.

See that blue paper contraption?

Want a closer look?  It is an ocean for Ariel (aka The Little Mermaid).

Gratuitous Construction Paper Cleavage Shot…..

Back to the salad.  Get your mind out of the gutter.  Or the blue construction paper sea.  🙂

I had one of my favorite salad combinations and caught up on laundry folding while catching up on a November episode of The Good Wife (I’m really behind).  My kind of multitasking – laundry and tv.

field greens + avocado + cilantro + lime juice+ macadamia oil+ hemp seeds

I was still a little hungry, so I had my second lunch of the day while gazing at the folded laundry and enjoying the quiet.

1/2 a frozen pizza – sometimes I eat like a rabbit, other times like a teenage boy

As with most Wednesdays, my 5 hours of kid-free time goes by in what feels like 20 minutes.  I picked up my munchkins and came home to start the afternoon routine.

The kids had snacks, complete with oranges picked off the fruit cart.

banana cake + cara cara oranges + tortilla + avocado triscuits

For dinner we had some crockpot lentil soup, Coscto sourdough bread and fruit.  Because it was a long afternoon with some cranky kids, I enjoyed my lentils with a nice Malbec.  No offense to the soup, but I enjoyed the wine the most.

How was your Wednesday?

Linking up with Peas and Crayons What I Ate Wednesday.

9 responses to this post.

  1. I think I lost AND forgot my lentil soup recipe! You should totally post yours sometime =) or email it to me? haha I’m CRAVING it hardcore!

    Loved your post as always =) gratuitious mermaid cleavage and all! bahaha!

    You’re the best! mwah!

    xoXOxo
    Jenn @ Peas & Crayons

    Reply

  2. You’re my inspiration for when I am a mom!! What great meals!

    Reply

  3. Strawberry Serenity. Sweet dreams were made of it. Face book and the Good Book. hehe

    I totally get the skipping to the car.

    Reply

  4. looks like a great day with some good eats 🙂
    my wednesday was pretty good as well, aside from losing $25 somewhere 😦
    i just asked God that He would allow someone who needs it more than me to find it.
    it’s still a bummer though, because i am anal and frugal with money. oh well! God’s will be done 🙂

    Reply

  5. what a great day!!

    Reply

  6. I love that you post gratuitous paper mermaid cleavage. We would get along in real life juuuuust fine. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment